Final Reflection

The Computing and Information 105 class did a spectacular job of introducing me to the basics of computing. The scope of this class was very broad and allowed me to gain a wide range of computing knowledge. With this wide range of computing knowledge my transition into studying for a computer science minor has been made much smoother. Throughout the course of the entire semester, the projects assigned always pushed me out of my comfort zone and helped me to learn several valuable skills. I was able to learn all about how these skills will be used in real life applications such as programming or web design.

Additionally, these assignments forced me out of my comfort zone by making me learn how to adapt to using technology that I have never even heard of before taking this class. The project that comes to mind when thinking about stepping out of my comfort zone definitely has to be the infographic and flow diagram assignment. Before that class period, I had no idea what an infographic poster even was let alone how to create one of my own. By that Thursday, I found myself on Canva creating a very solid infographic poster narrating how to get ready for school in the morning. The process wasn’t exactly seamless though. I spent all night sifting through websites trying to find the perfect infographic creator that was free and easy enough to use. Although it was a very painful and tedious process at first, I am proud to say that I was able to overcome that hurdle and create my infographic poster.

This final portfolio project was also a huge step for me. Before this class, I would’ve had no idea how to put an online portfolio like this together. But after plenty of hard work along with numerous amounts of trial and error, I was finally able to overcome and create something that I would’ve never thought possible jut like with the infographic poster. Because of this hard work and dedication, I am very proud of all the work that I have completed for this course. I will look forward to challenging myself even more throughout my college career with even more computer science classes as I study to earn my minor. The lessons that I have learned over the course of this spring will undoubtedly be useful as I earn my minor and will definitely help me overcome any of the obstacles that I will face along the way.

Leave a Reply

